USHL Title Page


WEBSITE BESTVIEWED AT 1024 x 768 RESOLUTION  – UPDATED: 10/30/2019 07:51:55 AM *



The United States Hockey League (USHL) is the top junior ice hockey leaguein the United States.  As of the 2015-16 season, it has
17 teams, consisting of players who are 20 years old and younger. The teams are located in Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan Nebraska,
North & South Dakota, Ohio, Michigan and Wisconsin.

It is strictlyclassified as an amateur league. Players are not paid for playing and this allowsformer USHL players to compete in
NCAA college
 hockey (which does not allow players who have been paid athletes before college).

The original USHL was first established in 1945 and ran for six seasons. The modern USHL began play in 1961 and remained
 a semi-professional  league before it became an amateur junior league in 1979. Many league players have gone on to compete
in college
and professional hockey. Every season the League continues to supply significant numbers of players drafted to NHL
teams with USHL roots.

The Anderson Cup is awarded annually to the United States Hockey League’s regular seasonchampion. It is named after
Harold Anderson, one of the founding fathers of the Midwest Junior Hockey League, which would eventually become
 the USHL. It has been awarded to the USHL regular season Champions since 1973. It Stands nearly five feet tall and cost over
$5000 to design and build.

The Clark Cup is awarded annually to the United States Hockey League Tier 1 Junior Hockey Playoff Champions.
The Clark Cup was  named in honor of Don Clark, the long-time registrar of the Minnesota Armature Hockey Association.
Don also won the NHL’s Lester Patrick Award for his contributions to hockey in the United States.

Commissioner Cup Championship Trophy
Prior to the 1980 season awarding of the Clark Cup, USHL teams competed for the Commissioner Cup and awared to the post
season USHL champion.  Prior to 1979 the United States Hockey League was classified as a senior/professional league. There were no age restrictions or player eligibility requirements.

The 1979-80 season would be considered a transition year from senior pro hockey to a Junior A classification. 1980-81 would
become the first official season of junior hockey.  In 2002 it would be elevated to Junior A Tier 1 level of play.  Today it remains
the best junior league in the United States, the level of play rivaling that of most Canadian junior leagues from Ontario, Quebec
and British Columbia.

 Check Out the collection.  He has a great selection of USHL history and memorabilia, as well as
a  huge puck collectionfrom many other junior, armature and professional leagues.

A Special THANKS to Michael for all the help he provided and time he put into this initial set-up of my website.
He had many longevenings of scanning, linking & typing and countless requests for support over the phone.
He has indeed proved, that you canteach an old dog new tricks!!!


2018-19 Sioux Falls Stampede Jaxson Stauber (G) Tri-City Storm
2017-18 Fargo Force Griffin Loughran Waterloo Black Hawks
2016-17 Chicago Steel Eduards Tralmaks (F) Sioux City Musketeers
2015-16 Tri-City Storm Wade Allison (F) Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
2014-15 Sioux Falls Stampede Troy Loggins  Sioux Falls (F) Youngstown Phantoms
2013-14  Indiana Ice Jason Pawloski (G) Waterloo Black Hawks
2012-13  Dubuque Fighting Saints Mike Szmatula (F) Dubuque Fighting Saints
2011-12 Green Bay Gamblers Sam Herr (F) Green Bay Gamblers
2010-11 Dubuque Fighting Saints Matt Morris Dubuque (G) Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
2009-10 Green Bay Gamblers Anders Lee Green Bay (F) Green Bay Gamblers
2008-09 Indiana Ice Mike Cichy Indiana (F) Green Bay Gamblers
2007-08 Omaha Lancers Drew Palmisano Omaha (G) Omaha Lancers
2006-07 Sioux Falls Stampede Matt Lundin Sioux Falls (G) Waterloo Black Hawks
2005-06 Des Moines Buccaneers Kyle Okposo Des Moines (F) Sioux Falls Stampede
2004-05 Cedar Rapids RoughRiders Alex Stalock Cedar Rapids (G) Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
2003-04 Waterloo Black Hawks Kevin Regan Waterloo (G) Tri-City Storm
2002-03 Lincoln Stars Danny Irman Lincoln (F) Lincoln Stars
2001-02 Sioux City Musketeers Andy Franck Sioux City (G) Omaha Lancers
2000-01 Omaha Lancers Ray Fraser Omaha (G) Lincoln Stars
1999-00 Green Bay Gamblers Aaron Smith Green Bay (F) Lincoln Stars
1998-99 Des Moines Buccaneers Pete Fregoe Des Moines (F) Des Moines Buccaneers
1997-98 Omaha Lancers Nate Mauer Omaha (F) Des Moines Buccaneers
1996-97 Lincoln Stars Green Bay Gamblers
1995-96 Green Bay Gamblers Green Bay Gamblers
1994-95 Des Moines Buccaneers Des Moines Buccaneers
1993-94 Omaha Lancers Des Moines Buccaneers
1992-93 Omaha Lancers Omaha Lancers
1991-92 Des Moines Buccaneers Thunder Bay Flyers
1990-91 Omaha Lancers Thunder Bay Flyers
1989-90 Omaha Lancers Omaha Lancers
1988-89 Thunder Bay Flyers Thunder Bay Flyers
1987-88 Thunder Bay Flyers Thunder Bay Flyers
1986-87 Rochester Mustangs Rochester Mustangs
1985-86 Sioux City Musketeers Sioux City Musketeers
1984-85 Dubuque Fighting Saints Austin Mavericks
1983-84 St. Paul Vulcans St. Paul Vulcans
1982-83 Dubuque Fighting Saints Dubuque Fighting Saints
1981-82 Sioux City Musketeers Sioux City Musketeers
1980-81 Dubuque Fighting Saints Dubuque Fighting Saints
1979-80 Hennepin Nordiques Hennepin Nordiques





Anderson Cup                         Clark Cup     Regular Season Champions                     Play-Off Champions      

Fargo-Moorhead BearsWisconsin Capitals

Hit Web Stats
<> </>